• Join Now
  • Taekkyon / Subak

  • Taekkyon And Subak

    1. Taekkyon martial art.

    Taekkyon training is divided into three  stages and categories. A beginner will start at stage one and over time progress through to stage three.

    1. Stage one.

    Single training – to learn and practice the fundamentals of Taekkyon by oneself. Such as foot work, stance, tripping, kicking, blocking.

    2. Stage two.

    Partner training – to practice techniques learnt in stage one with a partner. This will help develop timing and increase one’s skill when applying such techniques. These will later be used in sparring and fighting.

    3. Stage three.

    Sparring – to put into practice what one has learnt, and to become comfortable using these techniques against an opponent.

    In higher level taekkyon, punches and strikes are added during sparring and fighting.

    4. Sparring and competition matches.

    Sparring is divided into two categories. One category is wrestling and tripping, where kicks are not used. The other category is where wrestling and kicking are used together.

    2. Subak martial art.

    Subuk / Soobak is asian boxing. Blocking & trapping of the opponent’s arms is what differs Subak from western boxing. The arm is blocked, and trapped, to prevent the opponent from punching.

    One’s opponent is hit with different parts of the hand, but the palm is predominantly used. The way the opponent is hit is also different to western boxing.

    Subak also involves some simple wrestling.

    Subak has similarities with western boxing, in that the opponent’s head and the body are hit, and weaving of one’s body is important. Yet, the similarities end there.

    Subak/ Soobak is not new, and is an old martial art of asia/ Korea. It is not to be confused with the modern martial art of Soobahkdo, Soobakdo.

    Taekkyon is an old and traditional martial art of Korea.

    In 2011, Taekkyon was dedignated by Unesco to be unique intangible culutral heritage. It was the second martial art in the world to be designated as such.